Political Nightmares: the 2016 Election

I know. Your social network feed’s bombarded by articles, blogs, pieces and stories about the 2016 election results. And because of this, I’ll be brief about it. Some of you may have read the post about my experience with the Hillary campaign in Iowa earlier this year. In a nutshell, it was perhaps one of the biggest mistakes and personal failures of my adult life. After that, I remained unemployed for three long months. During that time, I did a lot of soul-searching about myself, my future and my past. Everything was scrutinized; nothing left unscathed by the overwhelming feeling of defeat, embarrassment and pointlessness.

And even though it was very clear to me back in July that Hillary’s campaign was filled by incompetent people, I made sure it didn’t obscure my view of the “big picture.” As a result, and in spite of the bitterness and anger that Iowa left me with, I still supported her. And I did, I voted for Hillary Clinton.

She was and still is the superior candidate in many ways. She’s experienced, cool-headed (perceived) and forward-looking. I’ll also concede that she’s corrupt. I hate the way the Democratic Party did Bernie, too. Perhaps this is some sort of cosmically induced “karma’s a bitch” scenario in which we all lose. Either way, to me, and to millions of other Americans, Hillary was the best fit to be the next President.

At the end of the day, President-elect Trump ran a more cost-effective and relatable campaign. All the sewage that he spewed out of his mouth didn’t really matter since all that was done as Trump the businessman, not the politician. And that’s where he was significantly better than Hillary. As a politician, her hands were too dirty. She was seen as part of the establishment, status quo candidate that catered to college educated whites in big cities, blacks and Latin@s, and other “marginal groups.” Celebrities, major newspaper outlets, politicians, and people in the military also endorsed Hillary. But it doesn’t matter since she had very little credibility as a politician.

But this isn’t an analysis of why Hillary Clinton lost the election. That would entail an in-depth study of the United States’ electoral process which I’m not necessarily qualified to do. The whole point of this entry is that I want to explore the slight possibility that maybe she deserved to lose. Maybe, the Democrats got drunk off their own sense of advancement. We got complacent; we thought we were morally superior and that’s why we lost.

I mean, the progressives have been slamming down political-correctness down the throats of the conservatives for eight years now, and it’s a serious mistake to think that we’re absolutely right in the cities with our college degrees, multi-ethnic social circles as opposed to those who want to “make America great again.”

And I’ll call it as I see it. Trump’s victory is white backlash, for the most part. White nationalists, especially baby-boomers, needed to be reassured that this country ultimately belongs to them. Thus, their families’ vote for Trump’s a supplemental reassertion of that truth that was undermined by President Obama, Eric Holder, Sonia Sotomayor and other powerful non-whites. As a minority, my “smallness” becomes much more apparent.

So in closing, when I woke up at 3:00 the morning of 9 November and saw Trump’s acceptance speech in Manhattan, my stomach dropped. I woke up my wife and gave her the news and when I told her she went right back to sleep. But not in a “I’m really tired” way, but more in like “this can’t be, I must be dreaming” way.

It’s all like a bad dream.

Leave a Reply

